Did you know that an iconic building in the centre of our beautiful village is 80 years old this year? It has seen a lot of social change and has down through the years, facilitated many meetings, auctions, dances, concerts, parties and dramatic productions. Presently, it serves as a working base for the ongoing, excellent and award winning efforts of our Tidy Town’s team of volunteers and employees. With its unique and eye catching style of sunburst lettering design over its entrance doors, the C.Y.M.S Hall, Milltown continues as a functioning, busy venue to the present day.
CYMS Hall, July 2019
It was designed by Eugene Walsh of Tuam and Peter O’Brien, contractor, of Tuam, completed the building of it. Sunday night, November 26th 1939, saw the official opening, under the direction of then, C.C. in Milltown, Fr. Stephen Blowick. A packed audience enjoyed a play produced by local C.Y.M.S. members. These two brief ‘Tuam Herald’ articles from that time, relating to the C.Y.M.S Hall in Milltown, record a glimpse into times past …
The Tuam Herald: Saturday 2nd December 1939
The Tuam Herald: Saturday 31st May 1941
This page was added on 22/07/2019.